Michael Foyle (violin) and Maksim Štšura (piano)

27th January 2018, 19:30

Michael Foyle (violin) and Maksim Štšura (piano)

Bmichael_russia_2_1_300orn in Ayrshire in 1991, Michael Foyle (violin) won the BBC Young Musician of the Year Tabor Award in 2008, the Royal Overseas League String Competition 2013 and the Netherlands Violin Competition in 2016. He graduated from the Royal Academy of Music in 2015 and is engaged this season as Guest-Leader of BBC Symphony Orchestra, and as Professor of Violin at Royal Academy of Music.

In the last season, he gave recital debuts in Wigmore Hall, Purcell Room, Buckingham Palace, Estonia Concert Hall and New York Chamber Music Festival, performing live on BBC Radio 3, NPO Radio 4 and Estonia Klassikradio. In March 2017 he performed the Elgar Violin Concerto with the Sevenoaks Symphony Orchestra.

Michael is kindly supported by Making Music's Philip & Dorothy Green Award for Young Concert Artists scheme.

Michael began collaborating with pianist Maksim Štšura in 2012. Their acclaimed duo won the Beethoven Piano Society of Europe Competition and the Salieri-Zinetti International Chamber Music Competition in Verona in 2015. 


Maksim Štšura is an Estonian pianist, composer and music scholar based in London. He has won prizes in several international competitions, including First Prizes at the 7th Estonian Piano Competition (2008), the Steinway-Klavierspiel-Wettbewerb in Germany (2004), and the International Frederic Chopin Piano Competition in Estonia (2000). He received his Master of Music degree from the Royal College of Music in 2013, studying under Gordon Fergus-Thompson. In 2014 Maksim started on a Doctoral course at the RCM, focused on the piano transcriptions of the contemporary orchestral scores.

Maksim has performed as soloist and chamber musician in concert halls across the UK, including St Martin-in-the-Fields, Purcell Room and the Wigmore Hall, and has performed extensively in Germany, Austria, Holland, Finland, Estonia and Russia. 

The duo's programme encompasses three centuries beginning with Mozart's best known violin sonata, followed by the rich tones of Brahms last sonata. Then we hear two works composed in time of war: Prokofiev's sonata  originally composed for flute in the last years of WWII and a tango which Piazzolla originally composed for cello in the middle of the Falklands War.


  • Mozart: Sonata No.21 in E minor, K.304
  • Brahms: Sonata No. 3 in D minor. Op.108
  • Prokofiev: Sonata No.2 in D, Op.94bis
  • Piazzolla (arr. Gubaidulina): Le Grand Tango

For more information about Michael Foyle and Maksim Štšura visit www.michaelfoyle.org and www.foylestsuraduo.com

Michael Foyle (violin) and Maksim Stsura (piano)
24th September 2022, 19:30

Michael Foyle (violin) and Maksim Stsura (piano)

The Foyle-Stsura duo perform in the most prestigious concert halls in the UK and internationally, and they are making a welcome return to...

Full event information